Karla Pequenino

‘Her Story’ produced by Karla Pequenino

What is your story about?
A girl who gets trapped by problems she creates herself, without realizing, and then has to learn how to overcome them herself because she wants to. That girl is me. In essence it shows how I overcome problems with isolation and disordered eating some years ago, by realizing I was the only one who could force myself to change and get better.

This story shows me finally ‘archiving’ that part of my life as  ‘just another journey I went through’ and can now freely talk about.

It is about discovering we have the power to change within ourselves.

Why did you choose to tell the story?
Nowadays, I am so embarrassed of ever having issues with eating that I avoid talking about it, even though this story forced me to do a lot of reflecting on it.

I feel my experience could help others, but I fear being judged and scrutinized so I avoid it. By telling this story, I wanted to get rid of my ‘imposed’ stigma and motivate others by showing them they can overcome their problems if they put their mind to it.

In short: ‘Coming clean’ about this part of my life, and trying to inspire others who are going through the same situation  is something that I wanted to do for some time. Citizen Media gave me the opportunity to finally ‘cross that goal’ off my list.

What did you find most challenging?
I was scared of going public and making the story too melodramatic. I tried to make my story as vague, but clear, as possible so that the essence came across without too many details. It was hard to find a balance in being descriptive enough about the problems and maintaining an overall positive tone.

I don’t want this to be my ‘sob story’, just something I went through. I am not sure if I have completely accomplished that, but I tried to focus on the positive.

Leave a Reply

